Saké Comments - 'Classics' Ironfist custom

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
'Classics' Ironfist custom
01-12-2012, 01:05 AM
'Classics' Ironfist custom
So I was browsing the sale in my local 'The Entertainer' the other day and I saw a few Revenge Of The Fallen figures had been slashed in price. Normally this wouldn't interest me as I don't care about the movie lines (apart from the decent homages), but something came to my memory.

One of the figures here was ROTF Brawn, and I remember one of you lovely folks (I cant remember who) saying you were going to use this guy as a substitute Ironfist. I just loved the character in 'Last Stand of the Wreckers' so for a few quid I thought i'd pick Brawn up.

He wasn't really doing it for me though. I saw how he could be Ironfist for sure, but he needed a push in the right direction. So I tried my first proper custom paintjob!

[Image: ironfist2.jpg]

I'm new to this, and i knew a general paintjob would just scratch off. But Brawn is something of a shellformer, a lot of his robot front isn't a part of his alt mode. So I thought if i just changed a few colours I might be able to get the Ironfist look without a total repaint.

[Image: ironfist1.jpg]

The Blue head was an obvious choice. I left the faceplate as is (i left the 'ears' too, just out of personal preference). I unscrewed the back of the head and took the light piping out, painting the eyes a light blue so they would stand out. Then i just decided to paint his chest gray, as he is mainly gray in the comics. The comic version and the original figure has bits of yellow/gold and green, so I thought it wouldn't be too bad if the rest was left alone. Now he has an Ironfist-y look, and can still be transformed without major paint scratching.